A concert hall full of people and light erupts and a fan holds up a heart in her two hands.
| | |

Coming UP…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Old Avoca Schoolhouse in Avoca, Nebraska will be streaming three online Scottish Fiddle Tunes Workshops for violins, violas, cellos, basses, mandolins, and soprano recorders.

The Workshops will be on

  • Tuesday, March 12, 7 PM, Central Time (5 pm PST),
  • Wednesday, March 13, 10 AM, Central Time (8 am PST), and
  • Friday, March 15, 7 PM, Central Time (5 pm PST).

Different tunes will be played at each session. We will read, play, and discuss various survival skills for these charming pieces.  A treble clef version of the sheet music for the tunes being played will be displayed on the screen during the workshop.

There is limited enrollment, and pre-registration is required.  The cost for each workshop is $10.00US. The cost of each optional book is $15.00US (includes shipping if ordered with workshop registration). 

For more information, and to register: https://greenblattandseay.com/workshops_scottish.shtml

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, March 16th – 7:30pm

Featuring VFS President Q. Brooke Bachand who will be accompanied by Charlie Gannon on guitar.

The event takes place in the Upstairs Lounge at Oak Bay Recreation Centre, 1975 Bee Street.  The Upstairs Lounge is a licensed restaurant and bar.  Doors open at 6 pm for dinner service and the music starts at 7:30 pm.  

Tickets are $30 and are available on our website beaconridgeproductions.com, as well as through the Oak Bay Recreation Centre, in person or by phone (250) 595-7946.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, March 17th  TWO Shows

2:00 PM – 4:00 PM doors at 1:00 PM (All Ages)

$40 Including fees/tax, walk-ins welcome: 2PM Matinee Tickets

7:30 PM – 9:30 PM doors at 6:00 PM (All Ages)

Livestream + In Person $40 Including fees/tax, walk-ins welcome 7:30pm Tickets

Featuring:

West Coast KITCHEN PARTY PERFORMERS:

MAIREAD O’BRIEN’S IRISH DANCERS | 29 YEARS OF IRISH DANCE IN VICTORIA

JAMIE TROY | DRUMMING BAGPIPER

THE BC FIDDLE ORCHESTRA | 30 YEARS OF YOUTH FIDDLING IN VICTORIA

ANDREW REDBEARD MORRIS MACKAY | CELTIC SINGER/BODHRAN/SPOONS

TASIA MACKAY | IRISH FLUTE/PENNYWHISTLER

JEANNE TOLMIE | SONGSTRESS EXTRAORDINAIRE

DANIEL LAPP | GLOBETROTTING FIDDLER

TMT (TIA GREENWOOD, MAX FRANCIS & TEO THOMPSON) | THE FUTURE OF TRAD

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Deborah Greenblatt will be offering an on-line Cross-Tuning Workshop for fiddlers on Thursday, April 25, 6:30 PM, Central Time.  This workshop is offered for FREE, thanks to the generosity of the Minnesota State Fiddlers Association.  For more information, and to register, e-mail the Minnesota State Fiddlers Association (MSFA) at msfafiddlers@gmail.com.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

VIctoria Fiddle Society and on Facebook  Suggestions? Email us at:  vfsinfo@gmail.com

Similar Posts